Friday, October 18, 2013

Oregon Battle of the Books

Graphic logo for Oregon Battle of the Books: Covers of books arranged inside Oregon state boundary outline

In the Bellview library media center this week I helped prepare for check-out, books selected by school librarians for Oregon Battle of the Books (OBOB).

The 16 third- to fifth-grade division titles are:
  • Abraham Lincoln by Mary Pope Osborne, 2011.
  • Birchbark House by Louise Erdrich, 1999.
  • Clementine by Sara Pennypacker, 2008.
  • Dear Mr. Henshaw by Beverly Cleary, 1983.
  • Eleven by Patricia Reilly Giff, 2008.
  • Gregor the Overlander by Suzanne Collins, 2003.
  • Inside Out and Back Again by Thanhha Lai, 2011.
  • Into the Firestorm by Deborah Hopkinson, 2006.
  • Kenny & the Dragon by Tony DiTerlizzi, 2012.
  • Marty McGuire by Kate Messner, 2011.
  • Pie by Sarah Weeks, 2011.
  • The Tale of Despereaux by Kate DiCamillo, 2004.
  • Umbrella Summer by Lisa Graff, 2011.
  • Waiting for the Magic by Patricia MacLachlan, 2011.
  • Who was Neil Armstrong? by Roberta Edwards, 2008.
  • Young Fredle by Cynthia Voigt, 2011.

OBOB is a statewide voluntary reading motivation and comprehension program for third- through 12th-grade students. It is sponsored by the Oregon Association of School Libraries in conjunction with a Library Services and Technology Act grant.

OBOB’s mission is to encourage and recognize students who enjoy reading, to broaden reading interests, to increase reading comprehension, promote academic excellence and to promote cooperative learning and teamwork among students. In each division, books are chosen to expose students to quality literature that represents a variety of literary styles and viewpoints.

A brochure found in the Bellview school office credits local sponsors: Aspens on the Creek, Bellview PTO, Ashland Elks Club and Kiwanis Club of Ashland.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Robust debate and even unusual opinions are encouraged, but please stay on-topic and be respectful. Comments are subject to review for personal attacks or insults, discriminatory statements, hyperlinks not directly related to the discussion and commercial spam.