Saturday, April 21, 2012

YA book blog: Inheritance cycle

Cover art: Inheritance
Cover art: Inheritance

Inheritance or, the Vault of Souls by Christopher Paolini (New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 2011) is the fourth and concluding volume in the Inheritance cycle, an epic fantasy set in the land of Alagaesia. Dragons and their riders — chosen from among humans and elves — formerly kept the peace but were cast down by an evil dragon rider and 13 other riders, “the Forsworn.”

The books tell the story of Eragon, a young man of humble origin who finds a dragon egg. It hatches for him and he and his dragon, Saphira, work with rebel forces, called the Varden, to battle the evil Galbatorix.

Paolini was 15 when he wrote Eragon, the first book in the Inheritance cycle. His family self-published the book in 2001 and Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers published Eragon in 2003 (Inheritance Cycle: Author, The series continues in Eldest (2005), Brisingr(2008) and concludes in Inheritance.

This epic fantasy will appeal to readers who enjoy this genre. There are presently 57 holds against copies of this book in the Lake, Mendocino and Sonoma County libraries. It is shelved in Young Adult fiction.

The books’ longer length and multiple characters and storylines make them suitable for teens who already are comfortable with and enjoy reading. I think the author’s young age during the writing of his books will add further appeal and perhaps even inspiration to similarly write a book.

Originally submitted to a class discussion board for Cuesta College LIBT 118: Connecting Adolescents with Literature and Libraries.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Robust debate and even unusual opinions are encouraged, but please stay on-topic and be respectful. Comments are subject to review for personal attacks or insults, discriminatory statements, hyperlinks not directly related to the discussion and commercial spam.